Real Property


The Real Property Law Committee encourages members of the Association interested in real estate and land use law issues to meet and confer through this committee. It promotes the legal education of members of the Bar and the public concerning real estate and land use law issues through the sponsoring of CLE and other seminars and through its committee meetings.

A Message from the Chair

Donald K. Swartz

“Welcome to the Cincinnati Bar Association Real Property Law Committee. Our committee strives to provide timely professional education and networking opportunities to attorneys practicing residential and commercial real estate law. Speakers at our monthly lunch meetings cover a range of topics including leasing, loan transactions, tax and other development incentives, environmental issues, “green” building, zoning and land use, foreclosure, legislative updates and other current real estate issues. Members of the committee include a wide variety of practitioners from sole practitioners, to in-house counsel, to large firm attorneys, and each add to the committee discussions by contributing their experiences, insights and questions. Our committee also hosts the annual Real Property Law Institute each December and Nuts & Bolts of Real Property Law Seminar each Summer. I look forward to seeing you at our meetings and seminars!”

Donald K. Swartz - Swartz Law Office, LLC

Nominations Sought for 2014 Real Property Law Practitioner Award

Nominations for the Cincinnati Bar Association "Real Property Law Practitioner of the Year" award are being accepted through November 7. CBA members are encouraged to nominate local real-property practitioners with outstanding achievement, contribution, and leadership in the practice of real property law. The award will be presented at the Real Property Law Institute at the Sharonville Convention Center on December 12, 2014. Please submit your nomination to Dimity Orlet by November 7. Nominations should include (1) a description of nominee’s contributions, achievements, and/or leadership in the practice area, and (2) the nominator’s name and contact information.

Prior award winners include:

Richard T. La Jeunesse, Esq., Graydon Head & Ritchey LLP (2013)

G. Robert Hines, Esq. (2012)

Noel M. Morgan, Legal Aid Society of Greater Cincinnati (2011)

P. Reid Lemasters, Frost Brown Todd LLC (2010)

Michael N. Barnett, Western & Southern Life Insurance Co. (2009)

E. Richard Oberschmidt, Frost Brown Todd LLC (2009)

W. Russell Wilson, Frost Brown Todd LLC. (2009)

Richard T. Lauer, Robbins Kelly Patterson & Tucker (2008)

Public Hearing Notice

Minutes, Handouts and Presentations

September Meeting: The New Proposed Federal Rule Regarding the Definition of “Waters of the United States".

April, 2014 Meeting: Minutes

October Meeting: Minutes, Presentation

August Meeting: Minutes, Overview, Order

July Meeting: Minutes, Handout 1, Land Contract

January 15, 2013 Minutes


May 17, 2012 Minutes

July 19, 2012 Minutes

News Headlines
Discussion GroupEvents
Home CLE Membership Foundation Committees/Groups Careers News & Resources About Us Contact Us