Award Recipients

To submit nominations for the below awards by January 31, contact Maria Palermo.


Themis Award

The Themis Award is the highest honor bestowed by the Cincinnati Bar Association for extraordinary service to law and the community.

Martha H. Perin (1990)
Hon. Gilbert Bettman (1992)
Harry Santen (1997)
Wm. T. (Bill) Robinson III (2003)
Michael Neumark (2005)
Hon. Timothy S. Black (2009)
James L. Johnson (2013)
Bea V. Larsen (2014)
John C. Norwine (2017)
Hon. Nathaniel R. Jones (2018)
Dean Verna L. Williams (2022)

Trustees Award

Since its inception in 1989, the Trustees Award is presented to an attorney for outstanding service to the Cincinnati Bar Association, the legal profession and the general community. The recipient must display a high level of commitment, dedication or courage. The award recipients are selected by the CBA Awards Committee.

George A. Leonard (1989)
George H. Palmer (1989)
John S. Wirthlin (1989)
Roy Ketz (1991)
Hon. Raymond E. Shannon (1991)
Theodore M. Berry (1993)
Bea V. Larsen (1994)
Hon. Robert L. Black, Jr. (1995)
Hon. Nathaniel R. Jones (1995)
Barbara Schwartz Bromberg (1996)
Hon. Thomas C. Nurre (1996)
Milton M. Bloom (1998)
Michael W. Hawkins (1998)
Hon. William A. McClain (1999)
Bruce I. Petrie (2000)
John S. Stith (2000)
John A. Benjamin (2001)
Donald P. Klekamp (2001)
Timothy A. Garry (2002)
Hon. Robert H. Gorman (2002)
James H . Coogan (2004)
John L. Muething (2006) Paul H. Tobias (2007)
Barbara G. Watts (2007)
Daniel J. Hoffheimer (2008)
Barbara J. Howard (2010)
Patrick J. Garry (2011)
William R. Graf (2011)
Richard M. Goehler (posthumously, 2012)
Robert G. Stachler (2012)
Thomas L. Cuni (2015)
Kenneth L. Parker (2016)
Marianna Brown Bettman (2019)
W. Breck Weigel (2020)
Wednesday Shipp (2021)

John P. Kiely Professionalism Award

The John P. Kiely Professionalism Award recognizes a trial lawyer for possessing outstanding trial skills and demonstrating the highest degree of professionalism, civility and ethical standards in his or her daily practice.  This annual award is presented to a member of the Cincinnati Bar Association by the Professionalism Committee of the CBA in honor of John P. Kiely. 

Leo Breslin (posthumously, 2001)
Robert L. Davis (2002)
Thomas S. Calder (2003)
Ralph Mitchell (2004)
James L. O'Connell (2005)
Gates T. Richards (2006)
Bea V. Larsen (2007)
James R. Adams (2008)
Robert F. Laufman (2009)
David Winchester Peck (2010)
Kathleen M. Brinkman (2011)
Louis F. Gilligan (2012)
Gerald J. Rapien (2013)
Harold G. Korbee (2014) Dr. Frank C. Woodside III (2015)
W. Roger Fry (2016)
Joseph W. Shea III (2017)
Carolyn A. Taggart (2018)
David P. Kamp (2019)
William M. Cussen (2020)
R. Joseph Parker (2020)
Walter E. Haggerty (2021)
James E. Burke (2021)
William H. Hawkins, II (2022)

John W. Warrington Community Service Award

The John W. Warrington Community Service Award recognizes a CBA attorney member or members who have performed extraordinary volunteer service to our community. This annual award is funded through a donation to the Cincinnati Bar Foundation by the law firm of Graydon Head & Ritchey, and the award recipient is selected by the Community Service Board Committee of the CBA in honor of attorney John W. Warrington. Nominate a Member.

Robert W. Buechner (1997)
Hon. Robert L. Black, Jr. (1998)
Scott E. Knox (1999)
Beth A. Myers (1999)
Peter J. Strauss (2000)
Harris K. Weston (2001)
John W. Beatty (2002)
Charles M. Meyer (2003)
Dennis J. Barron (2004)
John D. Luken (2004)
H.C. Buck Niehoff (2005)
Richard T. LaJeuness (2006)
Robert E. Rich (2007)
John G. Slauson (2007)
Kent Wellington (2008)
Joanne Wissman Glass (2009)
William E. Santen (2010)
Michael W. Hawkins (2011)
Gerald H. Green (2012)
David K. Montgomery (2013)
Kenneth L. Parker (2014)
Darlene M. Kamine (2015)
Julia B. Meister (2016)
Peter M. Rebold (2017)
Thomas L. Cuni (2018)
Barbara J. Wagner (2019)
Michael Hirschfeld (2020)
Randal Bloch (2021)
Jacob G. Samad (2022)
W. John Sellins (2022)

John L. Muething Lifetime Achievement in Law Award

The John L. Muething Lifetime Achievement in Law Award is presented by the Cincinnati Bar Foundation for 50 years of exemplary service as a lawyer. Members 75 and older are also eligible. Through his or her distinguished career, the honoree reflects the highest principles and traditions of the legal profession. 

Reuven J. Katz (1999)
J. Mack Swigert (2000)
John L. Muething (2003)
Powell McHenry (2004)
Bea V. Larsen (2005)
R. O. Klausmeyer (2006)
Donald P. Klekamp (2007)
John (Jack) A. Benjamin (2008)
Harry H. Santen (2009)
Hon. William A. McClain (2010)
Thomas S. Calder (2011)
Jerome S. Teller (2012)
William E. Santen Sr. (2013)
James R. Adams (2014)
Charles D. Lindberg (posthumously, 2015)
Timothy A. Garry (2015)
Edmund J. Adams (2016)
Hon. Nathaniel R. Jones (2016)
Mark H. Berliant (2017)
Robert L. Davis (2017)
Hon. Timothy S. Hogan (2017)
Kathleen Brinkman (2018)
James L. O’Connell (2018)
Marianna Brown Bettman (2020)
Thomas D. Heekin (2020)
Gary P. Kreider (posthumously, 2021)
John S. Stith (2021)

Volunteer Lawyer of the Year

The Trustees of the Volunteer Lawyers for the Poor Foundation present the Volunteer Lawyer of the Year Award to an attorney or attorneys who have provided exemplary pro bono legal services to one or more low-income clients through the Volunteer Lawyers Project (VLP). The Volunteer Lawyers for the Poor Foundation was established in 1982 by the Cincinnati Bar Association and the Legal Aid Society to increase the availability of legal services to the poor. The VLP coordinates pro bono legal services provided by private attorneys and law firms. The award recipient is selected by the Volunteer Lawyers for the Poor Foundation.

Harry Santen (1982)
Peter Thompson (1983)
John Norwine (1984)
Cathy Cook (1985)
Lewis Seiler (1986)
Margaret Reis, Margaret Stigler (1987)
Terry Weber (1988)
Stan Hirtle (1989)
Mike Walton (1990)
Robert Owens (1991)
Julia Sears (1992)
Steve Cohen (1993)
Bob Cloud, Francis McCune (1994)
Stacie Seiler, Binem Dizenhuz (1995)
Tom Gaier (1996)
Edmund J. Adams, Douglas Halpert (1997)
Steven D. Knittle (1998)
Michael A. Roberts (1999)
Rose Ann Fleming (2000)
Randolph Freking (2001)
Edward G. Marks (2002)
Eric D. Bender (2003)
Thomas L. Cuni (2004)
Benjamin, Yocum & Heather (2005)
Andrew M. Kaplan (2006)
John W. Eilers (2007)
Janet E. Pecquet (2008)
Alan H. Abes (2009)
Mary M. Sherman (2010) James R. Barton (2011)
D’Anne and Richard Uhle, Jr. (2012)
Scott E. Knox (2013)
Montgomery Rennie & Jonson, A Legal Professional Association (2014)
Nancy S. Brewer (2015)
Paul J. Minnillo (2016)
B. Scott Boster (2017)
Arthur J. Southard (2018)
Charles G. Bretz, Jr. (2019)
Ryan Hymore (2020)
Susan E. Wheatley (2021)